Collaborative research grants awarded to nine research teams


Nine research teams won $5,000 each to undertake interdisciplinary research. The Provost’s Collaborative Research Grant was established in 2015 to assist faculty in research and scholarly production by encouraging disciplinary and interdisciplinary collaboration. Faculty teams can receive up to $5,000, with preference given to projects involving collaboration between two or more researchers from different colleges. Applicants may be junior or senior faculty (tenure track, tenured or non-tenured in faculty positions) actively pursuing a research program. The next competition will take place in the fall of 2022.

Projects and winners 2021-22:

  • “A Maternal Health Hackathon: Co-Designing with Diverse Communities to Improve Birth Outcomes in Arkansas,” Bree McMahon, Assistant Professor of Graphic Design; Kelly Johnson, assistant professor of nursing; Allison Scott, associate professor of nursing; Alison Place, assistant professor of graphic design; Cara Osborne, assistant professor of strategy, entrepreneurship and risk innovation.
  • “Establishing interactions between microgels and viruses using Φ as a model for other lipid-enveloped viruses”, Susann Stiegler, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Kristen Gibson, professor of food safety and microbiology.
  • “The Evolution of Global Value Chain Networks: Drivers, Consequences and Impact of Global Economic Uncertainty”, Ka Zeng, Professor of Political Science and Director of International Studies; Jingping Gu, associate professor of economics; Raja Kali, professor and head of the economics department.
  • “Does Using Poetry in Science Classrooms Improve Attitudes toward Science Achievement?” Albert Cheng, assistant professor of educational policy; Stephen Burgin, associate professor of secondary science education; Kate Walker, professor of biological sciences.
  • “Developing psychophysiological and physical data analysis techniques to study intra-individual variability in post-stroke aphasia”, Mohammad Haghighi, Assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders; Mahmoud Moradi, associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry.
  • “Uncovering the Neural Mechanisms of Animal Behaviour,” Woodrow Shew, Associate Professor of Biological Sciences; Erica Westerman, assistant professor of biological sciences.
  • “The Arkansas Accent Project: A Documentary,” Ben Corbett, Assistant Professor of Drama; Ringo Jones, assistant professor of communication.
  • “Paleontological predictive modeling in the Luangwa River Valley, Zambia”, Lucas Delazene, Associate Professor of Anthropology; Carla Klehm, assistant research professor at the Center for Advance Spatial Technologies (CAST).
  • “Science Meets Communication: Identifying Effective Science Communication Strategies in the Digital Age,” Jee Young Chung, Assistant Professor of Journalism and Strategic Media; Young Hye Song, assistant professor of biomedical engineering.


Comments are closed.