Two UCSC Research Teams Recognized for Outstanding Papers in PNAS


Papers by two teams of UC Santa Cruz scientists are among the six winners and six finalists of the 2020 Cozzarelli Prize, selected by the editorial board of the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) recognize outstanding contributions to scientific disciplines represented by the National Academy of Sciences (NAS).

Papers were chosen from more than 3,600 research papers that appeared in the journal last year in six broadly defined categories. The annual Cozzarelli Prize recognizes articles that reflect scientific excellence and originality.

The winner in the Applied Biological, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences category was a paper on coral reef fish behavior, “Rapid behavioral feedbacks make ecosystems sensitive to the rate, not just the magnitude, of anthropogenic environmental change,” by Michael A. Gil, Marissa L. Baskett, Stephan B. Munch, and Andrew M. Hein.

Gil, the first author, was a postdoctoral fellow at UCSC’s Institute of Marine Science (IMS) when he completed his work and is currently at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Munch is an Associate Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB) at UCSC and is also affiliated with IMS and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries Program. Hein also has a joint affiliation with IMS, EEB and NOAA. The IMS Fisheries Collaborative Program brings together scientists from UCSC and NOAA to conduct research on the conservation and management of marine resources.

In the Physical and Mathematical Sciences category, the finalist was a paper on the role of amyloid-beta protein in Alzheimer’s disease, “Evidence for aggregation-independent, PrPC-mediated Aβ cellular internalization”, by Alejandro R. Foley, Graham P. Roseman, Ka Chan, Amanda Smart, Thomas S. Finn, Kevin Yang, R. Scott Lokey, Glenn L. Millhauser, and Jevgenij A. Raskatov.

All authors belong to the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at UCSC. Graduate student Alejandro Foley (now at Genentech) and postdoctoral researcher Graham Roseman (now at Yale University School of Medicine) are co-first authors, and corresponding authors are Jevgenij Raskatov, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry, and Glenn Millhauser, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry. For more information on this study, see “New technique sheds light on neuronal uptake of beta-amyloid in Alzheimer’s disease.”


Comments are closed.